Do I need a contractor's bond in Oregon?

Contractors of all kinds are required to be bonded and licensed by the Oregon Construction Contractor's Board (CCB) . This is outlined in Oregon Revised Statutes 701 and Oregon Administrative Rules 812. The type of bond required depends on the type of contractor license. Residential bond amounts range from $10,000 to $20,000. Commercial bond amounts range from $20,000 to $75,000.

Please note this page is for car dealer licensing. If you're trying to register a vehicle with a missing title, a separate Lost Title Bond is required.

Example contractor at work
Residential General Contractor Bond

Bond Amount: $20,000

Required by: Oregon Construction Contractor's Board (CCB)

green checkmark
State Acceptance Guarantee
green checkmark
Refund within 30 days
1 Year Bond Starts At
*Based on credit and experience
of total bond amount required

How much does it cost?

Rates range from 1%-6% of bond cost depending on the contractor's year of experience and credit score. Price increase as bond amounts increase. For a $10,000 residential bond, price could range anywhere from $100 to $600. We work with the best insurance carriers in Oregon to get you the best prices.

Example auto dealer lotDecorative purple dollar sign