California Contractor Bond

Contractors doing business in California with any single project more than $500 must have a contractor license. In order to obtain this license, contractors need a file $25,000 bond with the California Contractor State License Board (CSLB)

A one year $25,000 California Contractor License Bond (a.k.a CSLB bond) starts at $100. The bond price is mainly based on license history, applicant's credit score and credit history, so your social security number is required for a quote. Don't worry, the credit check will not affect your credit score since it's a "soft" check. The entire quote process takes about 3 minutes.

In addition, we at SuretyNow have 10+ insurance partners and we shop around among them to get you the best rate. We guarantee we have the lowest rate on the market. If you send us a quote, we will match and beat that quote, no questions asked. 

To make it easier for you, we'll e-file your bond to CSLB free of charge, the same day once bond payment is made.

California contractor bond sample form
California Contractor Bond Sample Form
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
This is some text inside of a div block. Link
Does this look right?
This is some text inside of a div block.
Continue to Form
If the info is incorrect, you can enter your info manually.
Hear It From Our Clients
Rated Excellent (5 stars out of 5) on Google
Decorative Purple Dollar Sign

How much does a CSLB bond cost?

The cost of a contractor bond is determined by a variety of factors, including the contractor's credit score, years of experience, prior claim history, and the insurance company offering the bond, and the term of the bond. Typically, the cost of the bond ranges from 0.5% to 6% of the bond amount ($25,000) required by the state. 

The higher your credit score, the more years of experience without any prior bond claims, the less expensive your bond would be. If you buy a multi-year bond, we can also offer a special discount. A California contractor with an outstanding credit score, who has had the license for at least 5 years, who has no claims in the past, can get a contractor bond starting at $85.

Or start with our 2 minute form.
Contractor License (CSLB) Bond

Bond Amount: $25,000
Required by: California Contractors State License Board

green checkmark
State Acceptance Guarantee
green checkmark
E-File Bond to CSLB
1 Year Bond Starts at
*Based on credit and experience
Get Quote

Are there other California contractor bonds?

Apart from the $25,000 Contractor License Bond / CSLB Bond, some contractors may need additional bonds. 

A $25,000 Bond of Qualifying Individual (BQI) is required in addition to the contractor license bond if the contractor license is qualified by a Responsible Managing Employee (RME) who owns less than 10% of the corporation's voting stock. This usually happens when the owner of the business does not have the necessary expertise in a certain contracting field.

A $100,000 LLC Employee/Worker Bond is required in addition to the contractor's bond if the business applying for the contractor license is registered as a Limited Liability Corporation ("LLC").

A disciplinary bond is also required if a license has been previously revoked. The disciplinary bond has a bond amount that starts at $25,000. The exact bond amount is determined by the CSLB.

Decorative Purple Map

Other FAQs (finer details if you're interested)

How does CSLB Bond work? 

There are three parties involved in the California Contractor Bond: the insurance carrier (the surety), the contractor being bonded (principal), and the obligee (contractor state licensing board). Under a CSLB Bond, the insurance carrier provides a financial guarantee to the contractor state licensing board that the contractor being bonded will perform duties as defined under the licensing law. If any violation is made, the customers, vendors, suppliers, and employees of a licensed contractor could make a claim against the bond. Then the insurance carrier would investigate the claim. If the claim is valid, then the insurance carrier would pay the damage up to the bond amount of $25,000 to the parties that made the claim. However, ultimately, the contractors are required by the California Contractor License Regulations to reimburse the surety company for payment made under the bond. Otherwise, their license could be permanently suspended

What information is collected and how long does it take? 

You need to complete a 3 minute short form for us to get you a quote. The following information is collected in the form to determine the applicant's eligibility and bond price: 

  • Contractor’s business name and DBA if applicable
  • Business address
  • Contractor's license number
  • Contact number and email address
  • Owner name and social security number

Is a credit check required for a contractor bond in California? 

Yes, when issuing a contractor bond or CSLB bond, insurance companies will typically conduct a "soft credit check" on individual contractors to determine price and eligibility. It's important to note that this type of credit check will not have any impact on an individual’s credit score.


What if I have bad credit?

Generally speaking, a credit score under 650 is considered “bad credit”. We have several insurance partners that specialize in this market, so if you have a less than perfect credit score, we can help. Give us a call or fill out our form and we’ll shop around to get you the lowest possible quote.

Why do I need a CSLB Bond to be a contractor in California? 

We understand… red tape is annoying and you’re probably wondering why this bond exists. Unfortunately, contractors are humans, and they can make mistakes. The California contractor license bond exists to offer some form of financial protection for consumers who hire contractors. Since 1929, the California Contractor State License Board (CSLB) has regulated the more than 300,000 licensed contractors in the state. Compared to states that do not have a contractor license board, Californians feel more confident hiring and working with contractors. This is because they know that the contractors are licensed and bonded with the CSLB. This is ultimately beneficial for the California contractor industry as a whole. 

Do I need a physical bond card to prove that I’m bonded?

There is a physical license card offered by CSLB for $25, but it’s not required. All bonds are electronically kept on record by CSLB, so a physical card is not necessary. If a customer wants to verify your license, you can ask them to look you up on the CSLB’s license check page. 

Some bonding agencies tout their own physical cards as a marketing tactic. However, in reality, these cards serve no purpose and have no relation to CSLB. Physical cards also add additional cost to the bonding process, which are often passed on to the contractors. Therefore SuretyNow does not offer physical cards as proof of bonding. 

Does CSLB enforce the bond? 

CSLB does enforce the bond actively. Doing paid contract work with more than $500 on a single project without a license can result in fines and imprisonment (Business & Professions Code 7028). CSLB enforces the bond through investigating customer complaints and running monthly sting operations throughout California. CSLB receives roughly 20,000 complaints about unlicensed contractors annually and runs highly effective sting operations to go after these complaints. In June 2019, CSLB ran three undercover sting operations and 46 sweep operations around California which resulted in 169 legal actions against contractors. These investigations are conducted by investigators from CSLB’s Statewide Investigative Fraud Team (SWIFT). 

How can I avoid claims on my California contractor license bond? 

To understand how one could avoid claims on a contractor license bond, let’s look at the most common reasons that claims happen: 

  • Abandoning an incomplete job
  • Failure to repair faulty workmanship
  • Failing to pay employees or vendors in a timely manner

Therefore to avoid claims on your contractor license bond, we recommend that contractors:

  • Always complete jobs according to contract specifications and ensure that customers are satisfied. One common method is to hold off on part of the payment until project completion. That way payment could then be used as proof of project completion
  • Always repair issues that come up from jobs done in the past. In California, contractors are required to offer a one year warranty on their jobs. This “Fit and Finish Warranty” is meant to cover small things such as tiling, counter installation, and painting. 
  • Always pay your vendors and employees on time because employees or subcontractors can make a claim on your contractor bond

What is the claims process like for a California contractor license bond? 

To file a claim against a bond, a consumer must contact the contractor’s surety company and submit the bond number, a written description of the problem, and a copy of the contract. The surety company will then investigate the claim. If the surety company finds the claim to be valid, they will make a payment to the claimant. Then, the surety company will try to recover the claim loss from the contractor. Let’s illustrate this with an example.

Consumer Kim hired contractor Jason for a major home renovation. They agreed on a $50,000 contract to do an electrical rewiring panel upgrade, whole house copper repipe and kitchen and bathroom remodel. Two months later, Jason declared to Kim that the job was complete. However, in reality, the work was done poorly. Kim found multiple issues with the renovation and even obtained correction notices from the city inspector. However, when she explained the issue to Jason, Jason insisted that the issues were unrelated to his work and were outside the terms of their contract. Kim looked up Jason’s license registration on CSLB and contacted the surety company listed on Jason’s license to file a claim of $30,000. The surety company investigated Kim’s claim and accepted the claim. Then, the surety paid Kim $25,000, which is lower than the claim of $30,000. This was because $25,000 is the maximum amount that could be paid out to a claimant because it’s the amount of the bond. Jason was now liable for repayment of $25,000 to the surety company, otherwise his bond and license would be canceled.

How do consumers check the bond status for a contractor?

Consumers can look up a contractor’s bonding status via the check for license page on the official CSLB website. It’s super easy and contractors are searchable either via their first and last name, business name or license number. 

When and why did the California contractor license bond amount increase to $25,000

Both the California contractor license bond and bond of qualifying individual coverage were increased to $25,000 on January 1st, 2023 as part of California Senate Bill 607, signed on September 28th, 2021. Prior to the passage of Bill 607, the bond amount required for each was $15,000. The bond amount was increased to provide an extra layer of protections for consumers and to offset rising construction costs.

Learn more from our blog about the bond amount increase.

Do I need to file the bond myself after purchase? 

Nope, you do not need to file the bond yourself. After you purchase the bond from us, we will e-file the bond on your behalf to CSLB. You can verify that it’s been filed by searching for your license on the CSLB website. We file the bond the same day after issuing your bond and it takes about a week for it to show up on the CSLB website.

How do I change information on my contractor bond? 

Give us a call or email if you need to change your existing bond. We will file what is called a bond rider form on your behalf to the surety company to make changes to the bond. 

Will I get proof of my bond?

We’ll send you via email a PDF copy of the bond once it’s been processed. This will serve as proof that you are bonded.